



# 15th ANNUAL NATIONAL CONFERENCE

on

## 'ELECTORAL & POLITICAL REFORMS'

Organized by Uttar Pradesh Election Watch (UP EW) & Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR)

<u>Venue</u> & <u>Date</u>: DeenDayal Upadhyaya State Institute of Rural Development, Lucknow; 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> March, 2019

### DRAFT AGENDA

#### 2<sup>nd</sup> March, 2019

9:00 – 10:00	Registration
10:00 – 10:30	National Anthem and Lamp lighting
	Chief Guest: Shri Sunil Arora, Hon'ble Chief Election Commissioner, Election Commission of India
	Inauguration & Welcome Address: Prof Trilochan Sastry (Founder member & Trustee –ADR/NEW), Maj. Gen. Anil Verma (Retd.) (Head-ADR/NEW), Mr. Sanjay Singh (Coordinator – UP Election Watch)
10:30 - 11:00	Address by Shri Sunil Arora, Hon'ble Chief Election Commissioner, Election Commission of India
	Chairperson – Dr. Ajit Ranade (Founder member and Trustee- ADR/NEW)
	Book release – 'All India Survey Report, 2018', '15 years of Uttar Pradesh Election Watch'
11:00 – 12:00	Electoral & Political Reforms: A lack of political will?
	Chairperson: Prof. Trilochan Sastry
12:00 - 12:15	Open Discussion
12:15 - 12:30	Tea Break
12:30 - 13:15	Electoral & Political Reforms and the Role of Judiciary
	Chairperson: Prof. Jagdeep Chhokar (Founder member and Trustee- ADR/NEW)
13:15 - 13:30	Open Discussion
13:30 - 14:30	Lunch
14:30 - 15:15	Electoral Bonds and financial opacity
	Chairperson – Maj. Gen. Anil Verma (Retd.) (Head - ADR & NEW)
15:15 - 15:45	Open discussion
15:45 - 16:30	Local and Urban governance
	Chairperson: Prof. Sudarsan Padmanabhan (Trustee – ADR)
16:30 – 17:00	Open discussion
17:00 – 17:10	Vote of thanks : Mr Sanjay Singh (Coordinator - UP EW)
17:10 - 17:30	Tea Break
18"00 – 19:30	Cultural Programme

### 3<sup>rd</sup> March, 2019

09:30 -10:00	Registration
10:00 - 11:00	Information & Communication Technology for Better Governance  Chairperson: Mr. Jaskirat Singh (Trustee – ADR/NEW)
11:00 - 11:30	Open Discussion





11:30 - 11:45	Tea
11:45 – 12:45	Role of Youth & Voter Awareness: In preparation for Lok Sabha, 2019  Chairperson: Dr Vipul Mudgal (Trustee of ADR)
12:45 - 13:00	Open Discussion
13:00 – 13:15	Resolutions and 'Next Steps for NEW'  Chairpersons – Prof. Trilochan Sastry
13:15 onwards	Lunch & Dispersal