



13th ANNUAL NATIONAL CONFERENCE On 'ELECTORAL & POLITICAL REFORMS'

Organized by Punjab & Haryana Election Watch (P&HEW) & Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR)

In Collaboration with Panjab University

<u>Date:</u> 29th and 30th April, 2017 <u>Venue</u>: Golden Jubilee Hall, Panjab University, Chandigarh

<u>AGENDA</u>

9:00 - 10:00	Registration
10:00 – 10:30	National Anthem and Lamp lighting
	Chief Guest: Dr Syed Nasim Ahmad Zaidi (Chief Election Commissioner, Election Commission of India)
	Inauguration & Welcome Address: Prof Trilochan Sastry (Founder member and Trustee of ADR), Mr. Jaskirat Singh (Trustee of ADR & Coordinator, P&H EW), Dr. Arun Kumar Grover (Vice Chancellor, Panjab University), Prof Ashutosh Kumar (Professor, Dept. of Political Science, Panjab University)
10:30 - 11:00	Address by Dr Syed Nasim Ahmad Zaidi, Chief Election Commissioner, Election Commission of India
	Chairperson – Dr. Ajit Ranade (Founder member and Trustee of ADR)
	Book release – Mid-Term National Voter Survey, 2017 and Combined Analysis of 5 State Assembly Elections, 2017
11:00 - 11:30	Presentation: Mr. J S Saharia (Maharashtra State Election Commissioner)
	Voter awareness initiatives of Maharashtra State Election Commission during Municipal Corporation, Zila Panchayat & Panchayat Samiti elections in Maharashtra, 2017
	Increasing opacity in Political Financing
	Chairperson – Dr. Ajit Ranade (Founder member and Trustee of ADR)
11:30 - 12:30	Panelists: Mr. Manish Tewari (Former Union Minister and Advocate – Supreme Court of India), Mr. Sukhpal Singh Khaira (Member – Punjab Legislative Assembly), Prof. Jagdeep Chhokar (Founder member and Trustee of ADR), Prof. Sanjay Kumar (Director – Centre for the Study of Developing Societies -CSDS)
12:30 - 13:00	Open Discussion
13:00 - 14:00	Lunch
	State/Public Funding of Political Parties
14:00 – 15:00	Chairperson – Prof. Jagdeep Chhokar (Founder member and Trustee of ADR)
	Panelists: Prof. Arun Kumar (Former Sukhamoy Chakravarty Chair Professor, JNU), Prof. Trilochan Sastry (Founder member and Trustee of ADR), Dr. M R Madhavan (President – PRS Legislative Research), Dr. Eshwar Anand (Professor, Symbiosis Institute of Media and Communication)
15:00 - 15:30	Open discussion
15:30 – 16:50	Innovative ideas towards greater voter awareness at the grass-root level
	Chairperson: Dr. Vipul Mudgal (Trustee of ADR)
	Panelists – Mr V K Singh (Chief Electoral Officer, Punjab), Mr. Sudhir Pal (Jharkhand EW), Mr. Sanjay Singh (UP EW), Mr. Ranjan Mohanty (Odisha EW), Mr Sharad Kumar (Trustee-Action for Good Governance & Networking in India (AGNI))
16:50 – 17:00	Vote of thanks : Mr. Jaskirat Singh





30th April, 2017

09:00 - 09:30	Registration
09:30 – 10:45	Criminalization of Politics
	Chairperson: Prof. Trilochan Sastry (Founder member and Trustee of ADR)
	Panelists: Mr. S N Shukla (General Secretary, Lok Prahari), Adv H C Arora (Advocate-Punjab & Haryana High Court), Prof Manjit Singh (Member – Swaraj Abhiyan), Prof Ashutosh Kumar (Professor, Dept. of Political Science, Panjab University)
10:45 - 11:00	Tea
	Impact of Media on Elections & Governance
	Chairperson: Maj. Gen. Anil Verma (Head of ADR)
11:00 - 12:30	Panelists: Mr. Uttam Sengupta (Executive Editor, National Herald), Mr. Mukesh Bhardwaj (Executive Editor, Jansatta), Mr. Vishal Monga (Chief of Bureau, Times Now), Mr. Sarabjit Pander (Former Special correspondent, The Hindu, Chandigarh)
12:30 - 12:45	Open Discussion
12:45 - 13:00	Resolutions and 'Next Steps for NEW'
12:43 - 13:00	Chairpersons – Prof. Trilochan Sastry and Mr. Jaskirat Singh (Coordinator, P&H EW)
13:00	Lunch & Dispersal