



Press Release 4th May, 2012

Performance Report of MLAs of Odisha Legislative Assembly:

- The average attendance of MLAs in Odisha assembly was 92%
- Total number of bills passed in Odisha State Assembly was 37 from 2009-2011
- The total number of actual sittings in Odisha Legislative assembly were 144 from 2009-2011.
- Odisha Legislative Assembly has the maximum average number of sittings/year (44) followed by Goa (26), Manipur (24) and UP (22)
- The average number of days of these State Assemblies (Odisha, Goa, Manipur, U.P, Punjab, Uttaranchal) sat is way below the Lok Sabha sittings.
- NEW demands that political parties include the parameters for improving performance of Legislatures in their Election Manifestoes.
- NEW also demands that parties give tickets to candidates suitable for legislation

New Delhi: Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and National Election Watch (NEW) had filed RTIs to the Assembly Secretariat of Odisha asking for the information pertaining to the performance of the MLAs and the Legislative Assembly. The following information was received:

S. No.	Information Requested	Whether Information Received Yes/No
1	Attendance of the MLAs in the Assembly	Yes
2	Total number of days the Assembly sit	Yes
3	Total number of days the Assembly was planned to sit	Yes
4	Number of bills tabled	Yes
5	Number of bills passed	Yes
6	Average bills discussion time	Yes
7	Number of Questions asked by MLAs	No
8	Number of times the assembly was adjourned	No





Number of bills tabled and passed:

The table below shows the number of bills passed in Odisha State Assembly and their average discussion time.

Information Year	Period	Bill Tabled	Bills Passed	Average Bill's Discussion Time(hours)
2009	Session-I	6	6	34.27
2007	Session-II	1	1	6.49
	Session-III	4	2	6.32
2010	Session-IV	15	13	18.18
	Session-V	7	5	17.49
2011	Session-VI	8	7	17.41
2011	Session-VII	9	3	15.19
Total		50	37	

Table: Average number of bills passed - Year wise

Planned and actual number of sittings:

The table below gives the total number of planned and actual sittings of the Odisha Legislative assembly from the year 2009-2011 (7 sessions).

Information Year	Period	Actual Sitting
2009	Session-I	28
2009	Session-II	15
	Session-III	8
2010	Session-IV	28
	Session-V	24
2011	Session-VI	31
2011	Session-VII	10
Total		144

Table: Average number of sittings- year wise

Analysis based on performance of Odisha State Assembly (compared with Lok Sabha and Legislative Assemblies of U.P, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa):

The Legislative Assemblies have been meeting for a very short time despite legislation being the main task of the MLAs. Odisha has the maximum average number of sittings/year (44) followed by Goa (26), Manipur (24) and UP (22). The least average number of sittings/year is for Punjab and Uttarakhand (19). The highest average attendance of MLAs is in the Uttarakhand Assembly (91%) followed by Punjab (71%)





and Manipur (65%). Uttar Pradesh MLAs have the least average attendance (20%). This compares very poorly with the number of sittings of MPs in Lok Sabha. The current Lok Sabha in the last 2.5 years sat for 208 days which averages to about 77 days in a year. All state assemblies have sat way below the average number of days Lok Sabha has sat.

State Assembly	No. of Years considered	Number of Sessions held by the Assembly	Total number of days of sittings	Average number of days of sittings /year	Average attendance of MLAs (%)	No. of times assembly adjourned
Odisha(till 2011)	3 years	7	144	44	92%	Information Not Received
Uttar Pradesh (till Feb '11)	4 years	10	89	22	23%	26
Punjab (till Mar '11)	4 years	10	76	19	71%	14
Manipur (till Aug' 11)	4.5 years	11	110	24	65%	11
Uttarakhand (till Sept '10)	3.5 years	11	68	19	91%	108
Goa (till Feb'11)	3.5 years	12	95	26	60%	85
15th Lok Sabha (till Dec '11)	3 years	9	208	77	Information Not Received	Information Not Received

Table: Average attendance of MLAs- State wise

MLAs who have maximum attendance:

Given below are the names of the top MLAs of Odisha Legislative Assembly with maximum attendance.

Sno	Name	Party	Constituency	2009		2010			2011		
				Session-		Session- III	Session- IV	Session- V	Session- VI	Session- VII	Total
1	Bijayshree Routray	BJD	BASUDEVPUR	27	14	8	27	27	31	10	144
2	Pradip Kumar Amat	BJD	BOUDH	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
3	Nihar Ranjan Mahananda	INC	ATTABIRA (SC)	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
4	Lal Bihari Himirika	BJD	RAYAGADA (ST)	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
5	Hrushikesh Naik	BJD	PATNA (ST)	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
6	Dusmanta Naik	INC	BHAWANIPATNA (SC)	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
7	Purna Chandra Swain	BJD	SURADA	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
8	Subarna Naik	BJD	KEONJHAR (ST)	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
9	Bijay Kumar Naik	BJD	KARANJIA (ST)	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
10	Shrinath Soren	BJD	UDALA (ST)	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
11	Bhagarathi Badajena	BJD	BHUBANESWAR NORTH (UTTAR)	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144
12	Prasad Kumar	INC	SATYABADI	28	15	8	28	24	31	10	144

Table: MLAs with maximum attendance





<u>Demands of National Election Watch (NEW) :</u>

NEW demands that all political parties should disclose their criteria for selection of candidates. The criterion must contain the ability and willingness of these candidates to do legislature work. Candidates with criminal background must not be given tickets by the political parties.

Whereas most legislatures are now passing recommendations for increase in MLAs salaries and perks, there is virtually no discussion on the role of MLAs. The parties must include various parameters for improving performance of Legislatures in their Election Manifestoes. They must also ensure that once they come to power they will make it easy for people to access information pertaining to performance of MLAs and State Legislative Assemblies through their official websites.