55 crorepati newly elected RS MPs, 13 with criminal cases: ADR

There are 55 newly elected crorepati MPs in Rajya Sabha while 13 have declared criminal cases against themselves, says a new study by Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR). "Out of the 57 newly elected MPs, 55 are crorepatis," a study by the Delhi-based think tank said. "The MPs with highest assets include Praful Patel of NCP with total assets worth Rs 252 crore followed by Kapil Sibal of INC (Rs 212 crore) and BSP's Satish Chandra Misra (Rs 193 crore)," ADR which has analysed the self-sworn affidavits of all 57 newly elected MPs of Rajya Sabha 2016 said. MPs with lowest assets include BJP's Anil Madhav Dave (Rs 60 lakh) and Ram Kumar (Rs 86 lakh). Anil Madhav Dave saw the highest percentage growth in assets as his assets increased by Rs 58,21,437 to Rs 60,97,179. Besides, 19 MPs have declared liabilities of Rs 1 crore and above. BSP's Satish Chandra Misra total assets stood at Rs 1,93 crore, while his liabilities was at Rs 38 crore. As many as 57 members were elected fresh to Rajya Sabha in the recently concluded elections. Among them, 17 represent BJP, 9 are from Congress, 7 (SP), 4 (AIADMK) and 3 (BJD). There are two each from JD(U), RJD, DMK, BSP and TDP while the parties SAD, NCP, SHS and YSRCP have one representative each. There is also an independent MP. Overall, 55 are crorepatis with ruling BJP accounting for 15 such members. Except for two people from BJP, all the other members -- new as well as re-elected ones -- who have come to the Upper House are crorepatis. The average assets value of the newly elected MPs to the Rajya Sabha, 2016, is Rs 35.84 crore, it said. Among major parties, the average assets for 17 BJP MPs is Rs 17.95 crore, 9 INC MPs is Rs 65.47 crore, 7 SP MPs (Rs 38.09 crore), 4 AIADMK MPs (Rs 6.79 crore) and 3 BJD MPs (Rs 14.98 crore). "Out of the 57 MPs analysed, 13 have declared criminal cases against themselves and seven have declared serious criminal cases, including cases related to attempt to murder, cheating and dishonestly inducing delivery of property, theft," the study noted. Three from BJP, two from SP and one MP each from INC, BJD, BSP, RJD, DMK, SHS, YSRCP have declared criminal cases against themselves in their affidavits, it said.

Read more at:

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method