GUWAHATI: The Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) are the richest among the political parties of Assam with an asset average of Rs. 4.43 crores.

Naren Sonowal, AGP’s legislator from Naharkatia, Dibrugarh is the richest amongst all MLAs of the state, having total assets of over Rs. 33 crores.

The assets analysis of the sitting MLAs of the Assam Assembly has been made public. According to the report, 34 out of 59 legislators of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are crorepatis, 20 from Congress, 10 from AGP, 7 from Bodoland People's Front (BPF) and 5 from All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) have assets of over Rs. 1 crore.

While AGP has the highest party-wise asset average amongst its crorepatis, Congress's average stands at Rs. 2.46 crores, followed by BJP at Rs. 2.26 crores. The average assets amongst the richest AIUDF legislators are Rs. 2.23 crores and Rs. 1.83 crores for BPF.

Narayan Deka from Barkhetry, Nalbari is the richest MLA from the ruling party with over Rs. 17 crores. Abdul Rahim Ajmal has reported having over Rs. 13 crores, the highest in AIUDF.

As for the four MLAs of Guwahati, Himanta Biswa Sarma (Jalukbari constituency) has an asset of over Rs. 6 crores holding the 14th position in the richest legislators list. He is followed by Siddharth Bhattacharya (Gauhati East) at the 23rd position with over Rs. 3 crores, Ramendra Narayan Kalita (Gauhati West) at 47th with Rs.1,75,87,208 and Atul Bora (Dispur) with Rs. 1,65,08,876 at the 49th position.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has shown a total asset of Rs.1,85,44,919 and is placed 43rd on the list.

The asset analysis was presented by the Association of Democratic Reforms, a Delhi-based NGO, ahead of the state assembly election. 

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method