Ahmedabad West constituency was created as part of the delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituency Order(2008)and is reserved for candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes. This constituency, along with Ahmedabad East, was formed out of the erstwhile Ahmedabad constituency, which has been a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stronghold since 1989.

The constituency has seen two parliamentary elections since its formation, both of which was won by the BJP candidate Kirit P Solanki. The constituency comprises of seven assembly constituencies- Ellisbridge, Amraiwadi, Dariapur, Jhamalpur Khadia, Maninagar, Danilimda, Asarwa.

As per the Election commission of India (ECI) website the constituency has a total of 16,42,720 voters: 851291 male; 791404 female; and 25 others.

The nominations of  13 candidates from different political parties or standing independently have been accepted by the ECI. Four nominations have been rejected by the ECI.

2014 Lok Sabha Elections

Incumbent MP: Dr Kirit P Solanki

In the 16th Lok Sabha election, 62.87 % of the 1534400 electors in the constituency cast valid votes. Solanki won 63.97% of votes polled, winning the seat by a margin of 320311 votes.

Name of Candidate Party Votes Secured Vote share ( over total votes polled )
Kirit Solanki BJP 617104 63.97 %
I.Dhanabh INC 296793 30.77%
J.J.Mevada AAP 17332 1.8 %
Chavda M BSP 6205 0.64 %
NOTA  — 16571 1.72%

Source: Election Commission of India

Know your candidates

    Kirit P Solanki ( BJP) 

Solanki is a medical practitioner by profession and has practiced and taught medicine for over three decades. He had served as the president of the Gujarat State Surgeons Association. He has been elected as MP from Ahmedabad West constituency since 2009. He will be contesting for the third time during the 17th Lok Sabha elections, and has submitted his asset details with the ECI.

Click here for his personal details, performance as MP and available MPLAD fund details.

Year Total Assets (Movable +Immovable ) Total Liabilities
2014 Rs 3,40,85,266 Rs 2,08,007
2019 Rs 8,94,74,039 NIL


 Raju Parmar ( INC)

Raju Parmar  has been a  three time Rajya Sabha MP being elected in the years 1988, 1994 and 2000. As an MP during his tenure, he has been a member of the Committee on Welfare of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes; Committee on Industry; Tobacco Board (Ministry of Commerce); Public Accounts Committee.

Pending criminal cases: None

Assets and Liabilities

Year Total  Assets  Liabilities
2019 Rs 26,29,97,727 1,89,43,977


The details of the affidavit filed by him, can be found  here.

Tribhovandas K Vaghela  ( Bahujan Samaj Party )

  • Age: 66
  • Education: 8th grade
  • Profession: NA
  • Phone: 9427600965 | 7041036131

Pending criminal cases: None

Assets and Liabilities

Year Total  Assets  Liabilities
2019 Rs 53, 54,000  NIL


Details of his affidavit provided to the Election Commission are present here.

Full list of candidates

Name of Candidate Party
Harshad Kumar Laxman Bhai Solanki Right to Recall Party
Dipika Sutaria Manvadikar National Party
Amrutbhai Vaghela Bharatiya Tribal Party
Somabhai Solanki Jan Satya Path Party
Jadav Jayantilal People’s Party of India
Vedhubhai Sirasat Ambedkarite Party of India
Chauhan Harishbhai Jethabhai Rashtriya Power Party
Mahedia Mahendrabhai Parsottamdas Independent
Bhitora Bhavesh Chimanbhai Independent
Pankajkumar Dayabhai Malhotra (Doctor Saheb) Independent

Issues in the Constituency 

A survey by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) titled All India Survey on Governance Issues and Voting Behaviour found that residents of Ahmedabad West stated noise pollution (48.18 %); need for better hospitals/ primary health care centres (48.07%); and drinking water (48%) as the three main issues in the constituency.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method