One India
Oneindia Correspondent

Conrad Sangma of the NPP took oath as Meghalaya Chief Minister for the second consecutive time. His party won 25 of the 60 seats in the assembly.

In the new Meghalaya Cabinet all the 12 ministers are crorepatis, a report has said.

The self-sworn affidavits of the 12 newly sworn in ministers were analysed by the Meghalaya Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms.

The report also said that only one minister had declared a pending criminal case against himself.

Earlier this week, Conrad Sangma, the leader of the National People's Party was sworn in as the chief minister of Meghalaya for the second time in a row.

In Meghalaya, the NPP-led alliance with the support of the 45 MLAs including 2 from the BJP had staked the claim to form the government.

Among the allies, eight Cabinet berths will go to the nPP, two to the United Democratic Party and one each for the BJP and Hill State People's Democratic Party. Sangma's NPP won 26 seats in the recently concluded assembly elections and formed the government for a second consecutive time.

The report said that the same minister had also declared that the criminal case declared by him was serious in nature.

Financial Background:

  • Crorepati Ministers: Out of the 12 ministers analysed, all 12 (100%) are crorepatis.
  • Average Assets: The average assets of 12 ministers analysed is Rs 11.45 crores.
  • Minister with Highest Assets: The minister with the highest declared total assets is Sniawbhalang Dhar from Nartiang (ST) constituency with assets worth Rs. 45.35 crores.
  • Minister with Lowest Assets: The minister with the lowest declared total assets is Rakkam A. Sangma from Rongara Siju (ST) constituency with assets worth Rs. 1.71 crores.
  • Liabilities: 7 ministers have declared liabilities out of which the minister with the highest liabilities is Sniawbhalang Dhar of Nartiang (ST) constituency with Rs. 3.42 crores of liabilities.

Other details:

  • Ministers' Age: 6 (50%) ministers have declared their age to be between 25 and 50 years while 6 (50%) ministers have declared their age to be between 51 and 60 years.
  • Women Ministers: Out of 12 ministers, 1 is a woman.
© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method