It is shameful and worrying, but unfortunately, true. As many as 68 eight MLAs had admitted to facing criminal cases and 35 of them to facing serious criminal charges in sworn affidavits  in the 2013 assembly polls.

The list of legislators who faced criminal cases  included as many as 36 (32%) of the 114 MLAs of the Congress, 13 (33%)  of the 40 BJP MLAs, 11 (31%) of the  35 JD(S) MLAs, one (25%) of the four KJP MLAs,  one(33%) of the three BSR Congress MLAs ,  one(100%)  SP MLA,  one(100%) KMP MLA and four (44%)  of the nine independents MLAs. 


Those facing serious criminal charges related to attempt to murder, dacoity , kidnapping and so on included  17(15%) Congress MLAs, eight (20%) BJP MLAs, five (14%) JD(S) MLAs ,  one(100%) MLA each from SP and KMP and three (33%) independents MLAs.

The Karnataka Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) , which has come out with the analysis of the sworn affidavits of 207 MLAs,  also found that 193 (93%) were crorepatis. Of them 109 of the  Congress, 36 of the BJP, 33 of the JD(S), four of the KJP, two of the BSR Congress, one each of the Karnataka Makkala Parksha and SP and seven independents had declared assets of over a crore. But the richest MLA was Mr Priyakrishna of the Congress with assets worth Rs 910 crore. Mr Nagaraju N , also of Congress, was second richest with assets worth Rs 470 crore followed by  Mr Anil H Lad of the Congress ( Rs 288 crore) , D K Shivakumar also of  the Congress ( Rs 250 crore) and Santhosh Lad of the same party ( Rs 186 crore).

Three MLAs with the smallest assets also belonged to the Congress. They were Mr H Rajesh (Rs 7 lakh) , Mr D Ramakrishna ( Rs 40 lakh), G Ram Krishna ( Rs 50 lakh). Next on the list were Mr B B Ningaiah of JD(S) (Rs 52 lakh) and an idependant, Varthur Prakash ( Rs 66 lakh).  Of the 207 MLAs covered, six were women.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method