As many as five sitting MLAs out of 161 having wealth of crores of rupees do not possess Permanent Account Number (PAN), says a report of Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and the MP Election Watch. As per the ADR analysis, 24% (54) MLAs haven’t filed income tax returns. The report, based on the analysis of the affidavits of the legislators, claims that in all 19 MLAs do not have PAN and of these 5 are crorepatis.

MP convener of the ADR, Rolly Shivhare said that the 14th Vidhan Sabha has 161 crorepati MLAs that is 72% of the total members. “We analysed affidavits of 225 legislators, documents of 5 MLAs could not be analysed due to technical reasons,” said Shivhare. “In 2008 assembly, 84 out of 219 that is 38 per cent MLAs were crorepatis but the in the house elected in 2013 there was a rise of 34% in crorepati MLAs,” added the ADR convener.

The average asset value of a MLA in 2013 was rated at Rs 5.24 crore compared to public representatives of 2008 who had assets of average Rs 1.44 crore. Considering the data party wise, both the Congress and the BJP stand at par. While BJP’s 73% MLAs are crorepatis Congress stands at close 71%. Bahujan Samaj Party has 4 members in the House out of which only 1 is a crorepati.

Among the top crorepati MLAs are Sanjay Pathak of BJP with a net worth of Rs 141 crores. BJP MLA from Ratlam, Chetan Kashyap has shown Rs 120 crore, BJP MLA Sanjay Sharma Rs 65 crore, BJP MLA Surendra Patwa Rs 38 crore and Congress MLA KP Singh has net worth of Rs 60 crore.

Lowest assets in the affidavit have been shown by BJP MLA from Indore, Usha Thakur that stands at Rs 1.38 lakhs only. BJP MLA from Jhabua, Shantilal Bilwal has Rs 4.88 lakh, Congress MLA Dinesh Ahirwar has Ra 6.02 lakh, BJP MLA from Guna Pannalal Shakya has shown assets worth Rs 10 lakh.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method