East Mojo

But BJP MLA Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh from Lamsang constituency in Imphal West district spent the highest amount of Rs 22.14 lakh during the recent polls.

Elections are generally synonymous with huge amounts of money soent by candidates and Manipur is no different. A detailed analysis of money spent by each candidate during the recently-concluded Manipur assembly elections was released by Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR).

As per the ADR report, five MLAs of the Indian National Congress (INC) party spent Rs 15.81 lakh each, while the 32 Bharatya Janata Party (BJP) MLAs spent Rs 14.57 lakh each during the state elections.

BJP MLA Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh from Lamsang constituency in Imphal West district spent the highest amount of Rs 22.14 lakh, whereas BJP MLA Yumnam Radheshyam Singh of Hiyanglam spent the least amount of Rs 3.94 lakh in the elections.

Chief Minister N Biren Singh spent Rs 15.69 lakh during the elections and former chief minister and Congress leader Okram Ibobi Singh spent Rs 20.55 lakh, as per their statement submitted.

In a press conference held at Kwakeithel Mayaikoibi on Monday, Youth Collective Manipur (YCM) welcomed the ADR report of the Manipur Election 2022: Analysis of Election Expenditure Statement of MLAs.

“In sharp contrast to the popular perception of astronomical rise in election expenditure, the MLA’s elections expenditure affidavits analyse by ADR shows a totally different picture,” says Thongam Zingo, Co-ordinator, People’s Election Monitoring (YCM).

As per the Election Commission of India, the expenditure limit for the candidates during the 12th Manipur Legislative elections was Rs 28 lakh.

All the elected MLAs are supposed to submit their election expenditure statement to their District Election Officers concerned within 30 days from the declaration of the election results.  

“Instances of ministers/politicians ruing over the crores of rupees being spent during the election have kicked off controversies in the past. However, their expenditure statements shows that they have all spent less than the upper limit of Rs 28 lakh,” said Thongam Zingo.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method