Economic Times
ET Online

The ​​Election Commission of India on March 16, 2024, had announced the dates for Lok Sabha and four assembly elections. The Lok Sabha will commence on April 19, 2024. As per the EC announcement, the result of the elections will be announced on June 4.

The commencement of India's significant political event, the 2024 Lok Sabha election, occurred today, April 19, 2024. Similar to the 2019 general elections, the voting process will unfold across seven phases.

On March 16, 2024, the Election Commission of India disclosed the dates for the Lok Sabha and four assembly elections. The Lok Sabha proceedings officially commenced on April 19, 2024, with the election results slated for announcement on June 4.

The first phase of the elections will encompass 21 states, covering a substantial portion of the country. With nearly 970 million eligible voters, the forthcoming elections are set to transpire across over 1.2 million polling stations. In preparation for this significant event, the election commission conducted evaluations in all states to assess their preparedness.

Here's a list of constituencies and analysis of candidates:

Lok Sabha Election Phase 1 Constituencies List:

  1. Arunachal West
  2. Arunachal East
  3. Kaziranga
  4. Sonitpur
  5. Lakhimpur
  6. Dibrugarh
  7. Jorhat
  8. Aurangabad
  9. Gaya
  10. Nawada
  11. Jamui
  12. Bastar
  13. Sidhi
  14. Shahdol
  15. Jabalpur
  16. Mandla
  17. Balaghat
  18. Chhindwara
  19. Ramtek
  20. Nagpur
  21. Bhandara – Gondiya
  22. Gadchiroli – Chimur
  23. Chandrapur
  24. Inner Manipur
  25. Outer Manipur
  26. Shillong
  27. Tura
  28. Mizoram
  29. Nagaland
  30. Ganganagar
  31. Bikaner
  32. Churu
  33. Jhunjhunu
  34. Sikar
  35. Jaipur Rural
  36. Jaipur
  37. Alwar
  38. Bharatpur
  39. Karauli-Dholpur
  40. Dausa
  41. Nagaur
  42. Sikkim
  43. Tiruvallur
  44. Chennai North
  45. Chennai South
  46. Chennai Central
  47. Sriperumbudur
  48. Kancheepuram
  49. Arakkonam
  50. Vellore
  51. Krishnagiri
  52. Dharampuri
  53. Tiruvannamalai
  54. Arani
  55. Viluppuram
  56. Kallakurichi
  57. Salem
  58. Namakkal
  59. Erode
  60. Tiruppur
  61. Nilgiris
  62. Coimbatore
  63. Pollachi
  64. Dindigul
  65. Karur
  66. Tiruchirappalli
  67. Perambalur
  68. Cuddalore
  69. Chidambaram
  70. Mayiladuthurai
  71. Nagapattinam
  72. Thanjavur
  73. Sivaganga
  74. Madurai
  75. Theni
  76. Virudhunagar
  77. Ramanathapuram
  78. Thoothukkudi
  79. Tenkasi
  80. Tirunelveli
  81. Kanniyakumari
  82. Tripura West
  83. Saharanpur
  84. Kairana
  85. Bijnor
  86. Muzaffarnagar
  87. Nagina
  88. Moradabad
  89. Rampur
  90. Pilibhit
  91. Tehri Garhwal
  92. Garhwal
  93. Almora
  94. Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar
  95. Hardwar
  96. Coochbehar
  97. Alipurduars
  98. Jalpaiguri
  99. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  100. Udhampur
  101. Lakshadweep
  102. Puducherry

Lok Sabha Phase 1 Polling Candidates' analysis:
Forty-two of the 102 Lok Sabha seats going to polls in the general election's first phase are constituencies that have three or more candidates facing criminal cases, the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) has claimed after analysing the self-sworn affidavits of 1,618 candidates out of the 1,625 contesting the elections in its first phase on April 19.

As per the analysis, 16% or 252 individuals are named in criminal cases, with 10% or 161 facing serious criminal charges.

The analysis revealed some alarming statistics, with seven candidates facing murder charges and 19 involved in attempted murder cases. Additionally, 18 candidates have declared cases related to crimes against women, including one candidate facing a rape charge under section 376 of the Indian Penal Code (IPC). Furthermore, 35 candidates have been linked to instances of hate speech.

Of the 102 seats going to polls in the first phase, 41% are deemed "red alert" constituencies, indicating that multiple candidates in these constituencies have criminal cases against them. The analysis highlighted that various political parties have candidates with criminal backgrounds, including all four candidates of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and a significant percentage of candidates from parties like the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Samajwadi Party (SP), Trinamool Congress (TMC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Congress.

In addition to the revelations on criminal records, the ADR's analysis also shed light on wealth disparities among candidates. About 28% of candidates in the first phase of the polls are "crorepatis," with assets exceeding Rs 1 crore. The average assets per candidate stand at Rs 4.51 crores, with notable differences observed across party lines.

The analysis further revealed that several candidates from major parties have declared assets worth over Rs 1 crore, with Congress candidate Nakul Nath from Chhindwara, Madhya Pradesh leading the list with assets worth Rs 716 crore.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method