ATN News

The seven electoral trusts, which have announced their participation during the financial year 2020-21, have received a total of Rs 258.49 crore from corporates and individuals and distributed Rs 258.43 crore (99.97 per cent) among various political parties. An analysis released on Thursday states:

The top 10 donors have donated Rs 223.00 crore to the Electoral Trusts, which constitutes 86.27 per cent of the total donations received by the trusts during the financial year 2020-21 and Rs 212.05 crore to the BJP or all political parties. 82.05% of the total donations received from Electoral Trust.

An analysis by the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR) states that the major parties that received donations include BJP, JDU, INC, NCP, AIADMK, DMK. , RJD, AAP, LJP, CPM, CPI and Lok Tantric Janata Dal

Future Gaming and Hotel Services contributed the most amount of Rs 100 crore among all the donors of Electoral Trust, followed by Haldia Energy India Limited with Rs 250 million and Megha Engineering and Infrastructures Limited with Rs 22 crore in various trusts. Contributed

In the financial year 2020-21, 159 people contributed to the Electoral Trust: two people donated Rs. 3.50 crore to the Proud Electoral Trust, 153 people donated Rs. 3.202 crore to the Small Electoral Trust, three people donated a total of Rs. Rs 5 lakh was given to EE. The ADR said in a statement that the Electoral Trust and one individual contributed Rs. 1,100 to the Independent Electoral Trust.

The top 10 donors have donated Rs 223.00 crore to electoral trusts, accounting for 86.27 per cent of the total donations received by the trusts during the financial year 2020-21.

The Prodent Electoral Trust donated Rs 209.00 crore to the BJP, as against Rs 217.75 crore in the financial year 2019-20, while the J. Bharth Electoral Trust gave its total revenue to the BJP in the financial year 2020-21. Donated Rs. 2.00 crore.

The Electoral Trust donated Rs. 3.31 crore to INC. The Provident Electoral Trust donated to seven political parties, including major parties such as the BJP, JDU, INC, NCP, RJD, AAP and LJP.

The BJP received Rs 212.05 crore or 82.05 per cent of the total donations received by all political parties from electoral trusts while the JDU received Rs 27 crore or all parties received 10.45 per cent of the total donations received from all the seven electoral trusts.

The ADR analysis states that the other 10 political parties including INC, NCP, AIADMK, DMK, RJD, AAP, LJP, CPM, CPI and Lok Tantric Janta Dal have received a total of Rs 19.3801 crore.

As per the ECP guidelines till 2019, 21 electoral trusts were registered with the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) and the latest list of electoral trusts approved by CBDT on September 8, 2021 shows that two new electoral trusts are registered. Are

Of the 23, 16 have submitted their partnership reports and only seven trusts have announced donations from various corporate houses and individuals. The registration of four electoral trusts, namely Bajaj Electoral Trust, Gauri Welfare Association Electoral Trust, Pratinidhi Electoral Trust and Socialist Republican Electoral Trust Association of India, has not been renewed.

According to the rules laid down by the central government, election trusts must distribute at least 95% of the total contributions received during the financial year and the additional amount raised beyond the previous financial year to eligible political parties before March 31. need to. The said financial year.

The rules are not precedent and therefore the six electoral trusts namely General Electoral Trust, Electoral Trust, Harmony Electoral Trust, Corporate Electoral Trust, Indian Electoral Trust, and Satya Electoral Trust are required to adhere to the principles of transparency and provide details of their donors. No need to announce.

Noting that 56% of the 16 electoral trusts that submitted their annual reports for fiscal year 2020-21 declared that they had not received any share this year, ADR said, “Fiscal years 2013-14 and 2020 Between 21, eight electoral trusts have declared that they have not received any donations since the year of registration or whose reports are not available in the public domain, while six electoral trusts have announced that they have received only one donation since registration. What’s more, it raises questions about the continuity of registration of electoral trusts that fail. To fulfill its primary purpose of distributing the donations received by them to the respective political parties. “

Out of the 23 registered Electoral Trusts, cooperation reports for the financial year 2020-21 are not available on the ECI’s website, even five months after the deadline.

These include Jan Kalyan ET, Jan Shakti ET, People’s ET, Upakarti ET, Bharatiya Bhoomi ET, Harmony ET and Kalyan ET.

The analysis added that the Kalyan Electoral Trust’s partnership report had not been available on the ECI’s website since its registration in September 2016.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method