Business Line
Panaji (Goa)

Timblo Pvt Ltd, whose Managing Director Radha Timblo has been mentioned by the Union Government in its affidavit on people having black money accounts abroad, had donated nine times to the BJP and thrice to the Congress between 2004-05 and 2011-12, amounting to ₹1.18 crore and ₹65 lakh, respectively.

According to the Association of Democratic Reforms (ADR), a body spearheading the cause of democratic and electoral reforms, the BJP’s donations report for the 2011-12 lists the name of Chamanbhai Lodhiya from Rajkot, another person named in the affidavit. He had donated a total of ₹51,000 to the party. Former Dabur executive Pradip Burman is the third name in the affidavit.

There are a total of 13 electoral trusts, only seven of which have been approved by the Central Bureau of Direct Taxes (CBDT) because they were formed after the CBDT rules governing electoral trusts were notified on January 31, 2013, ADR said. The remaining six trusts were already in existence before the CBDT rules for such trusts were notified. The seven trusts formed after the CBDT rules are required to submit details of their donations to the Election Commission. The other six electoral trusts have donated more than ₹105 crore to national parties between 2004-05 and 2011-12. Details of these donations are not known, says ADR.

Since details of donors who made contributions to these six electoral trusts are not known, it cannot be verified whether the funding of political parties through electoral trusts was not only a means of getting tax exemption but also a means to convert black money stashed in tax havens to white money in India, said Bhaskar Assoldekar of ADR and National Election Watch (NEW) on Monday.

These Trusts include General Electoral Trust, Electoral Trust, Harmony Electoral Trust, Corporate Electoral Trust, Bharti Electoral Trust and Satya Electoral Trust.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method