Data put out by the Karnataka [ Images ] Election Watch (KEW) and Association for Democratic Reforms analysed 179 outgoing MLAs who are contesting again in the 2013 Karnataka Assembly elections. The average worth of asset of candidates contesting the Karnataka Assembly elections is Rs 19.87 crore.

Average assets in 2008 elections: The average asset of these 179 re-contesting MLAs fielded by various parties in 2008 was Rs 10.59 crore.

Click here!

Average assets in 2013 elections: The average asset of these 179 re-contesting MLAs now in 2013 is Rs 19.87crore.

Average asset growth in 5 years (2008-2013): The average asset growth for these 179 re-contesting MLAs, between the Karnataka Assembly elections of 2008 and 2013, is Rs 9.27 crore.

Percentage growth in 5 years (2008-2013): Average percentage growth in assets for these 179 re-contesting MLAs is 88 per cent.

Highest growth in assets in 5 years (2008-2013): D K Shivkumar of INC from Kanakpura constituency has declared maximum increase in assets with an increase of Rs 175.91 crore i.e from Rs 75.59 crore in 2008 to Rs 251.50 crore in 2013.

Assets of PriyaKrishna (of INC from Govindrajnagar constituency) have increased by Rs 143.36 crore, from Rs 767.61 crore in 2008 to Rs 910.98 crore in 2013. Assets of Santhosh Lad (of INC from Kalaghatgi) have risen by Rs 124.85 crores, from Rs 61.54 crore in 2008 to Rs 186.40 crores in 2013.

Highest percentage growth in 5 years (2008-2013): The highest percentage increase (21051%) in assets has been declared by Ramanatha Rai of INC from Bantwal constituency. Ramanatha Rai’s assets increased from Rs 1.71 lakh in 2008 to Rs 3.62 crore in 2013. Appachu Ranjan of BJP from Madikeri constituency has declared an increase in assets of 5752%; his assets have risen from Rs 18.20 lakhs in 2008 to Rs 10.65 crore in 2013 (He did not provide rupee value for 6 motor vehicles, jewellery and immovable assets).

S Raghu of BJP from CV Ramanagar constituency is third with 4241% increase in assets; his assets have grown from Rs 72.88 lakh in 2008 to Rs 31.64 crore in 2013.

Asset decrease in 5 years (2008-2013): 8 MLAs have reported decrease in assets in 2013 as compared to the value of their assets in 2008. Among them the highest decrease has been shown by Sangameshwara B K (72% decline in assets, Rs 5.83 crore in 2008 to Rs 1.66 crores in 2013) from Chickmagalur constituency, C T ravi (54% reduction in assets, from Rs 7.85 crore in 2008 election to Rs 3.59 crore in 2013) and Dr Bagali Sarvabhoum (51% decline in assets, Rs 8.02 crore in 2008 to Rs 3.94 crore in 2013) of from Indi constituency.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method