New Delhi

NEW DELHI: Five national and many regional political parties are among those which have not submitted their poll expenditure statements to the Election Commission (EC) even after several years, Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said on Tuesday. 

The parties include the Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) among others. 

According to rules, election expenditure statements of political parties are required to be submitted within 75 days of completion of assembly elections and 90 days from the completion of Lok Sabha elections, ADR said. 

Lauding the EC for its notice suspending recognition of the National Peoples' Party (NPP) for failing to submit its expenditure report for the Lok Sabha elections in 2014, the ADR requested the EC to suspend recognition of those parties which have repeatedly defaulted in submitting their poll expenditure statements for general or assembly elections. 

Among the national political parties, election expenditure statements of the BJP and the Congress are not available for five assembly elections held between 2011 and 2015, followed by the CPI defaulting with its submission for four assembly elections, and the CPM in one assembly election, it said. 

"The availability of election expenditure statements of regional parties is equally worrisome," the ADR said. The JD(U)'s statements are unavailable for 15 assembly elections, those of the LJP are unavailable for 11 assembly elections, and of the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and Shiv Sena are not available for 10 assembly polls held between 2011 and 2015.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method