The Free Press Journal

BHOPAL: Fifteen out of 140 candidates ( 11%) contesting the Lok Sabha polls from 10 Parliamentary constituencies going to polls on April 17, are facing serious criminal charges. Association for Democratic Reforms ( ADR) and Madhya Pradesh election watch have analysed the affidavits of the candidates.

Giriraj adav who is contesting Lok Sabha election from Guna as Independent candidate is facing murder charge while Brindawan Singh Sikarwar of BSP from Morena is facing the charge of attempt to murder. Jaibhan Singh Pabaiya of BJP from Guna is facing dacoity charges. Sheeba Malik of SP from Bhopal has charges of receiving property stolen in the commission of dacoity.

Pabaiya is also facing charges related to promoting enmity between different groups on grounds of religion, race, place of birth, residence, language, etc. and doing acts prejudicial to maintenance of harmony ( IPC Section- 153A), charge related to Imputations, assertions prejudicial to national- integration ( IPC Section- 153B); charge related to injuring or defiling place of worship with an intent to insult the religion of any class ( IPC Section- 295); charges related to Deliberate and malicious acts, intended to outrage religious feelings or any class by insulting its religion or religious beliefs ( IPC Section- 295A).

Ambesh Kumar of SP from Tikamgarh is facing charges of culpable homicide not amounting to murder ( IPC Section- 304); criminal intimidation ( IPC Section- 506) and illegal payments in connection with an election ( IPC Section- 171H). Five candidates having serious criminal charges are contesting from Bhopal, 4 from Sagar, three each from Morena, Damoh, and Guna.

Vijay Kumar Sen of CPMML contesting from Bhopal, is facing charges– charge related to rioting ( IPC Section- 147); Rioting, armed with deadly weapon ( IPC Section- 148) and wrongful restraint ( IPC Section- 341) PC Sharma of Congress from Bhopal facing charges related to rioting, Acts done by several persons in furtherance of common intention and unlawful assembly.

Sevakam of BSP from Tikamgarh is facing charges of House- trespass. Mohammed Hanif Qureshi ( Independent ) from Sagar is facing charges of criminal intimidation.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method