NEW DELHI: On an average, assets of Lok Sabha MPs re-elected in 2014 in by-elections till 2018 grew by Rs 7.81 crore from 2009 —a percentage growth of 142 per cent.

According to National Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), which have analysed the affidavits of these 153 sitting MPs, the average assets of these 153 re-elected MPs fielded by various parties in 2009 was Rs 5.50 crore while the amount in 2014 was Rs 13.32 crore. Financial details of 153 sitting re-elected MPs fielded by various political parties were taken from the recently filed affidavits by these MPs and the values of these financial assets have been compared to the corresponding values of the assets that the MPs showed in their affidavits from the previous elections.

Shatrughan Sinha of BJP from Patna Sahib Constituency, Bihar, has declared maximum increase in assets of Rs 116.73 crore, according to the analysis. Assets of Pinaki Mishra of BJD from Puri constituency, Odisha has increased by Rs 107.40 crore. Assets of Supriya Sule of NCP from Baramati constituency, Maharashtra have risen by Rs 62.37 crore. 

Top gainers by percentage are E. T. Mohammed Basheer of the IUML (2,018 per cent rise), Sisir Kumar Adhikari of TMC (1,700% per cent rise), and P. Venugopal of AIADMK (1,281% per cent rise).

Assets of 72 sitting re-elected BJP MPs have shown an average increase of Rs 7.54 crore and 28 sitting re-elected INC MPs have shown an average increase of Rs 6.35 crore. 

Some MPs also reported decline in assets, led by P Karunakaran of CPI(M) whose assets plunged by 67 per cent in these five years. Jagdambika Pal of BJP saw his assets shrink by 64 per cent. They were followed by Arjun Charan Sethi of BJD (-39%), Om Prakash Yadav of BJP (-27%), K.V. Thomas of Congress (-21%) and Ninong Ering of Congress (-16%).

National Election Watch and ADR say this data has been presented in good faith, with an intention to inform voters. MP’s affidavits obtained from the ECI website with nomination papers are the sources of this analysis, they add.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method