As Puducherry is all set for upcoming Assembly elections, which will take place in a single phase on April 6, let us take a look at the bank balance of the MLAs in the UT.

According to a report by Association for Democratic Reforms, out of 30 sitting MLAs analysed, 25 (83%) are crorepatis.

The report said that the average asset per sitting MLA is Rs 9.66 crore.

The average asset per MLA for 15 Congress MLAs analysed is Rs 9.63 crore, 7 All India N R Congress MLAs is Rs 9.06 crore, 4 AIADMK MLAs is Rs 5.69 crore, 3 DMK MLAs is Rs 19.31 crore and one IND MLA has average assets of Rs 1.09 crore.

The richest Puducherry legislator is Kamaraj Nagar's Congress MLA A Johnkumar who has over Rs 32.27 crore worth assets attached, followed by the party's Lawspet MLA V P Sivakolundhu, who has over Rs 29.85 crore worth of properties, and the third is All India N R Congress MLA N Rangasamy from Indira Nagar, with Rs 29.53 crore worth assets, both movale and immovable.

All India N R Congress MLA Kopiga B has the least amount of properties among the analysed ministers, with properties worth Rs 24 lakh.

Ahead of the assembly polls, the Congress on March 4 revamped its Puducherry unit, appointing various office bearers, executive committee members and district presidents. The PCC is headed by A V Subramanian.

Meanwhile, BJP plans to unleash a high-voltage campaign in Puducherry with a battery of central leaders as it seeks to wrest power in the union territory, as party in-charge for Puducherry Nirmal Kumar Surana said the BJP would field about 10 star campaigners in the UT, where elections to the 30-member assembly would be held on April 6.

The counting of votes for Puducherry will take place on May 2 along with that of Assam, West Bengal, Kerala and Tamil Nadu.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method