A total of 16 MLAs of the 126-member Assam Legislative Assembly, have declared liabilities of Rs 1 crore and above, said a report prepared by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and Assam Election Watch.

In the current Assam Assembly, 6 seats are vacant following the death of three MLAs and resignation from the Assembly by 3 others.

The vacant seats are Rangapara, Patacharkuchi , Golaghat, Lakhipur, Sibsagar and Titabar.

The Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) and Assam Election Watch have analyzed the criminal, financial and other background details of 119 out of the 126 MLAs.

The details of BJP MLA Mansing Rongpi have not been analysed due to unclear affidavit available on the ECI website at the time of preparing the report.

“This analysis is based on the affidavit submitted by the candidates prior to the 2016 Assembly elections and by-elections conducted thereafter,” the report said.

“90 (76%) MLAs out of 119 analyzed have declared liabilities,” it said.

“MLAs’ affidavits obtained from the ECI website ( with nomination papers is the source of this analysis,” it said.

The three MLAs, who have the highest liabilities of over Rs 4 crore are Wazed Ali Choudhury, Congress MLA from Salmara South, who has liabilities of over Rs 6 crore, AGP MLA from Barhampur and ex-CM Prafulla Kumar Mahanta has liabilities of over Rs 4 crore and BJP MLA from Barkhetry, Narayan Deka has liabilities of over Rs 4 crore.

According to the report, Wazed Ali Choudhury has total assets worth Rs 11 crore, Narayan Bora has total assets worth Rs 17 crore and Prafulla Kumar Mahanta has total assets worth Rs 7 crore.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method