: There has been a 95% growth in the average assets of legislators re-elected to the state assembly in 2016, said a survey on Monday. Self-sworn affidavits of 34 re-elected legislators, many of whom are set to contest the state election again this year, revealed an average rise in Rs 1.48 crore. The Assam Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) published the study.
Minister in the cabinet, Chandan Brahma of the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF ), recorded the maximum increase in assets, which was an increase of Rs 6.97 crore. The legislator from ST reserved Sidli constituency had assets worth Rs 2.60 crore in 2011, which went up to Rs 9.58 crore in 2016, a whopping 268% rise.

Second in the list is AIUDF chief and perfume baron Badruddin Ajmal’s son Abdur Rahim Ajmal, who represents the Jamunamukh assembly constituency. Between 2011-2016, Abdur Rahim’s assets increased by Rs 6.26 crore from Rs 6.84 crore in 2011 to Rs 13.10 crore in 2016.
The assets of Congress MLA from Laharighat and former minister Nazrul has spiked by Rs 3.33 crore from Rs 2.58 crore in 2011 to Rs 5.91 crores in 2016. Islam is third among the legistors whose assets increased in the five year bracket. Powerful minister and senior leader ’s name also figured among the top five legislators, whose assets have shown the highest increase in 2016, compared to 2011.
From Rs 3.06 crore, Himanta’s assets increased to Rs 6.38 crore registering an upsurge by 108%. Former chief minister and Barhampur MLA Prafulla Kumar Mahanta’s assets were Rs 7.92 crore in 2016, a 63% hike from Rs 4.86 crore in 2011.
State BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass’s assets grew by 47% to Rs 2.31 crore. But it is AIUDF MLA from Dhing in Nagaon, , whose assets have shown the highest 1177% increase between 2011 and 2016. On the other hand, Congress legislator from Nazira Debabrata Saikia’s assets dipped during the period, from Rs 5.50 crore to Rs 4.55 crore, a decrease by 17%.
At 200.97%, BPF has shown the highest party-wise average increase in assets of the re-elected MLAs, followed by AIUDF (93.26%), Congress (85.7%), BJP (75.82%) and AGP (65.82%).
© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method