Bharatiya Janata Party candidates have not declared any criminal cases pending against them while 7 (39%) out of the 18 candidates from Indian National Congress (INC), 3 of 10 candidates of Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J), one candidate each of Gondwana Gantantra Party and Samajwadi Party and three out of 66 independent candidates have declared criminal cases out of total 190 candidates in election fray in 18 assembly constituencies of first phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly elections, states analysis done by Chhattisgarh Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) released on Sunday.

This time INC has 4 candidates with serious criminal cases while JCC(J) has two and 2 out of 66 are found in independent candidates. Jagdalpur is the only one constituency which is having 3 or more candidates with declared criminal cases as per analysis done in the self-sworn affidavits of 187 of 190 candidates.

42 candidates are crorepati while average assets of candidates are Rs 1.42 crores. Total of 14 female candidates are contesting in first phase. 

The analysis on wealth states, six candidates have Rs 5 crore and above, 11 has Rs 2-5 crores, 50 has Rs 50 lakhs to Rs 2 crore, 50 has Rs 10 lakhs to Rs 50 lakhs and 70 candidates have less than Rs 10 lakhs. The highest assets is of Devwrat Singh of JCC (J) in fray from Khairagarh with Rs 119 crores plus, Mohan Lal Markam (INC) of Kondagaon (ST) with Rs 11 crores and Dr Raman Singh, Chief Minister (BJP) from Rajnandgaon constituency has Rs 10 crores plus total assets. 

The lowest asset is of Pratima Wasnik (Rajnandgaon) of Republican Paksha having Rs 1,200 while Mahesh Lodhi of Khairagarh AC has Rs 2500 and Dharmuram Kashyap of Chitrakot (ST) as independent has Rs 5000 as movable assets.

The analysis further says Tankeswar Bhardwaj of Chiktrakot (ST) JCC(J) candidates has Rs 41 crores as liabilities while Shishupal Shori of Kanker (ST) of INC has Rs 1 crore plus liabilities and Janrail Singh Bhatiya (JCC-J) of Khujji has Rs 1 crore plus liabilities.

Chief Minister Raman Singh (BJP) from Rajnandgaon has declared total self-annual income of Rs 34,59,130, the highest followed by Devwrat Singh of Khairagarh with Rs 33 lakhs and Kailesh Shrivastava of Rajnandgaon has declared as pension income of Rs 16 lakhs. It is interesting that Kawasi Lakhma of Konta (ST) Congress candidate has total assets of Rs 1.88 crore but has not filed ITR. Same is case with Hirendra Kumar Sahu of BJP from Khujji and Jaya Kashyap of Dantewada (ST) of Congress.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method