Asaduddin Owaisi (AIMIM). File picture

New Delhi: As many as 58 current MPs and MLAs have declared cases related to hate speeches, with the BJP having the maximum number of such politicians, a report said on Wednesday.

"Fifteen sitting Lok Sabha MPs have declared cases related to hate speech against themselves. None of the Rajya Sabha MPs have declared cases related to hate speech," a report by the Delhi-based think tank Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said.

Ten sitting Lok Sabha MPs with such declared cases are from the BJP, with the rest being members of the AIUDF, Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), PMK, AIMIM and the Shiv Sena, it said.

Badruddin Ajmal (AIUDF). File picture

"Political party leaders such as Asaduddin Owaisi (AIMIM) and Badruddin Ajmal (AIUDF) have declared cases related to hate speech against themselves," ADR said.

Uma Bharti. File picture

Uma Bharti, a Union minister, has also declared such cases as also eight state ministers, the report added.

The 43 sitting MLAs who have declared hate speech cases include 17 from the BJP, five each from the TRS and AIMIM, three from the Telugu Desam Party, two each from the Congress, JDU and the Shiv Sena, and one each from the DMK, BSP and the Samajwadi Party, the report said.

The analysis, by ADR and National Election Watch, is based on affidavits submitted by candidates and MPs/MLAs prior to the last election they contested. Uttar Pradesh has 15 MPs and MLAs with declared hate speech cases, followed by Telangana (13), Karnataka (5) and Maharashtra (5), among others. 

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method