Karnataka Assembly elections 2018: A 64 per cent growth is seen in the assets of 184 MLAs, who are re-contesting the Karnataka Assembly elections on May 12, as compared to 2013 elections, by the analysis of their self-sworn affidavits, according to an ADR report. Out of 184 MLAs, the richest 5 MLAs have seen an increase of more than Rs 100 crore addition in their wealth since the last election. These MLAs are from the ruling Congress party, the report by the NGO Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) stated. 
According to the report, the average assets of these 184 re-contesting MLAs from various parties, including independent MLAs, in 2013 was Rs 26.92 crore, which have grown to Rs 44.24 crore now, showing an increase of Rs 17.31 crore in the average assets. 

(source: Association for Democratic Reforms )

The 5 MLAs who have seen an increase of more than Rs 100 crore in their assets include DK Shivakumar, N Nagaraju, Shamanur Shivashankarappa, Priyakrishna and Deshpande Raghunath Vishwanath -- all from the Congress. 
DK Shivakumar's assets grew to Rs 840 crore an increase of Rs 588 crore (or 234 per cent). In 2013, He had declared assets worth Rs 251 crore. Nagaraju had declared assets worth Rs 470 crore in 2013, which have now grown up to Rs 1,015 crore (116 per cent rise) while Shivashankarappa's assets worth Rs 67 crore in last elections have increased to Rs 183 crore (170 per cent rise), the ADR report said.
Priyakrishna's assets of Rs 1,020 crore have grown from  Rs 910 crore since last election in 2013. Vishwanath's assets have risen from Rs 113 crore in the last polls to Rs 215 crore now (or 89 per cent). 


(source: Association for Democratic Reforms)

As per the report, an average of 66 per cent rise in 108 re-contesting Congress MLAs' assets had been seen since 2013. While 49 recontesting MLAs of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have seen an average increase of 65 per cent in their assets. An increase of 50 per cent in the assets of 24 recontesting MLAs of the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) has also been reported.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method