A total of 178 candidates from different political parties have been newly elected to the legislative assemblies of the three north eastern states.

Among the crorepati MLAs, Nagaland has the highest number of crorepati MLAs with 45 out of the total 60 candidates elected, while Meghalaya has 39 out of 59 and Tripura has 15 out of 59.

United Democratic Party's (UDP's) Metbah Lyngdoh, elected from Mairang constituency of West Khasi Hills district of Meghalaya, has emerged as the wealthiest MLA among the newly elected MLAs of the three states.

Metbah Lyngdoh has assets over Rs 87 crore with movable assets worth of Rs 43.76 crore and immovable assets worth of Rs 43.49 crore.

Apart from Metbah Lyngdoh, other top wealthy MLAs are Dasakhiatbha Lamare (NPP) with assets of Rs 40.37 crore, Neiphiu Rio (NDPP) with assets of Rs 36.41 crore, Renikton Lyngdoh Tongkhar (HSPDP) with assets of Rs 29.88 crore, Comingone Ymbon (NPP) with assets of Rs 26.39 crore.

BJP’s Tripura CM face, Biplab Kumar Deb,  has assets worth over Rs 2.13 crore including movable assets of Rs 78.93 lakh and immovable assets worth of Rs 1.35 crore.

According to the reports, out of the total crorepati MLAs of three states, BJP has 24 crorepati MLAs, while 20 from Naga People’s Front (NPF), 15 from Congress, 13 from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), 13 from National People's Party (NPP), 4 from United Democratic Party (UDP).

On the other hand, the three states have elected 27 MLAs whose educational qualification is upto 10th pass.

Among them, Nagaland has elected 12 such MLAs, while 9 elected from Meghalaya and 6 from Tripura.

Sixty two elected candidates of Nagaland, Meghalaya and Tripura are in the age group of 25-45 years, including 32 from Meghalaya, 12 from Nagaland and 18 from Tripura.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method