Freepress Journal
Staff Reporter

In five years, MLAs raised 29,484 questions.

Former chief minister Kamal Nath did not ask even a single question in the state assembly in the last five years. MLA Rampal Singh of BJP topped the list in asking questions. In all, the MLAs raised 29,484 questions in the 15th assembly (2018-2023).

The other MLAs who did not bother to raise a question in the assembly are Sishupal Singh, Deosingh Saiyam, Sumitra Devi Kasdekar and Surendra Patwa of BJP and Congress MLA Hukum Singh Karada.

This was revealed in a report released by Association for Democracy Reforms on Wednesday.

The assembly is the place where legislatures raise questions regarding problems in their constituencies. The number of questions raised reflects MLA’s concern about development of the constituency.

Apart from the above five MLAs, who never raised a question, the report also mentions the name of five MLAs who asked the maximum number of questions. Among them four are from the BJP and one from the Congress.

MLA Rampal Singh raised 390 questions in the assembly, followed by Yaspal Singh (387), Heeralal Alawa (383), Umakant Sharma (381) and Rajendra Pandey (377).

Among the total number of questions raised in the assembly maximum were related to urban development and housing, panchayat and rural development, revenue, school education and public works department.

Highest attendance

BJP MLA from Sarangpur Kunwarji Kothar who attended 77 out of 79 sittings of the 15th Assembly, is among the five MLAs with high attendance. They all belong to the BJP. Apart from Kothar, the other MLAs are Harishankar Khatik from Jatara, Dilip Singh Parihar from Neemuch, Shyam Lal Dwivedi from Teonthar and Suresh Rai from Sehore.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method