News Trail
NT Correspondent
New Delhi

Over 100 MPs and MLAs have been identified as having cases related to 'hate speech' by the Law Commission, with the BJP accounting for approximately 40 percent of these cases, according to an analysis conducted by a private election watchdog.

Out of the 4,768 MPs and MLAs analyzed by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), 107 lawmakers have cases that can be categorized as hate speech, with the BJP having the highest number at 42, followed by Congress with 15.

Among these 107 lawmakers, 33 are MPs, and 74 are MLAs. The AAP follows the BJP and Congress with seven lawmakers. The DMK, Samajwadi Party, and YSR Congress each have five such lawmakers, while the RJD has four.

According to the Law Commission, Sections 124(A), 153(A), 153(B), 295(A), 298, 505(1), and 505(2) of the IPC, along with relevant sections in other statutes, pertain to hate speech.

This analysis is based on affidavits by the candidates. According to the ADR's list, ministers and MPs such as Amit Shah and Pralhad Joshi have cases related to hate speech filed against them.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method