Over 50 MPs and MLAs have hate speech cases filed against them with the maximum number of them from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). According to a report by Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), 58 MPs and MLAs have declared cases of hate speech against them. 

Among the 15 Lok Sabha MPs who have declared hate speech against them, 10 are from BJP. Remaining five sitting MPs are from All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Paattali Makkall Katchi(PMK),  All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and Shiv Sena.

AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi and AIUDF president Badruddin Ajmal have reported cases against them, the ADR said. Apart from them, Union Minister Uma Bharti and chief ministers of eight states have also declared such cases against them. 

As far as MLAs are concerned, there are 43 sitting MLAs who have declared hate speech cases. While 17 sitting MLAs with such declared cases are from BJP, five each are from TRS and AIMIM, three from TDP, two each from INC, AITC, JD(U) and SHS, one each from DMK, BSP, SP and two Independent MLAs, the ADR report added. 

The ADR report is based on the affidavits submitted by the candidates and MPs/MLAs prior to the last election they contested. 

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method