New Delhi

A total of 4,852 MPs and MLAs are entitled to vote in the upcoming presidential elections, slated for July 17, and out of these only 451 are women. As per an analysis of the electoral college by the Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR), only nine per cent of the total 4,852 MPs/MLAs are women.

Noteworthy, the Lok Sabha has only 12 per cent women out of the total strength. Similarly in Rajya Sabha, there are only 10 per cent are women. The basis of the ADR analysis are the affidavits of 774 Members of Parliament and 4,078 Legislators from state assemblies.

As per ADR, Uttar Pradesh has the maximum number of women votes among state assemblies, followed by West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh. Interestingly, Nagaland has zero per cent votes as it has no women MPs or MLAs.

The ADR statement said that of the total number of MPs and MLAs, 33 per cent members have declared criminal cases against themselves in a self-sworn affidavit filed with the ECI before their most recent elections. “34% of Lok Sabha MPs, 19% of Rajya Sabha MPs and 33% of MLAs (all state assemblies/ UTs) analysed have declared criminal cases against themselves,” the statement read.

The analysis further states that 20 per cent members have serious criminal cases against themselves. Popular names under this category are RJD MP Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav, AITC MP Becharam Manna and RJD MP Mohammed Iliyas Hussain. Out of the total legislators who are entitled to vote, 71 per cent are crorepatis, the ADR analysis informed.

Presidential Election 2017 will be held on July 17 and the counting of votes and the results will be announced on July 20. The term of the current President Pranab Mukherjee ends on July 25. The NDA has fielded Ram Nath Kovind as its candidate for the election whereas, Opposition’s nominee is former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method