New Delhi


In the upcoming presidential elections, a total of 4,852 MPs and MLAs are entitled to vote on July 17, and out of these only 451 are women.

According to Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) in the Electoral College only nine per cent of the total 4,852 MPs/MLAs are women.

It is noteworthy that the Lok Sabha has only 12 per cent women out of the total strength. Similarly, in Rajya Sabha, only 10 per cent are women.

The ADR analysis is based on affidavits of 774 Members of Parliament and 4,078 Legislators from state assemblies.

Nagaland has zero per cent votes as it has no women MPs or MLAs. Uttar Pradesh has the maximum number of women votes followed by West Bengal and Madhya Pradesh. 

The ADR statement said that of the total number of MPs and MLAs, 33 per cent members have declared criminal cases against themselves in a self-sworn affidavit filed with the ECI before their most recent elections. “34% of Lok Sabha MPs, 19% of Rajya Sabha MPs and 33% of MLAs (all state assemblies/ UTs) analysed have declared criminal cases against themselves,” the statement read. 

The analysis further states that 20 per cent members have serious criminal cases against themselves. Popular names under this category are RJD MP Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav, AITC MP Becharam Manna and RJD MP Mohammed Iliyas Hussain.

According to ADR analysis, Out of the total legislators who are entitled to vote, 71 per cent are crorepatis.

Presidential Election is going to be held on July 17 whereas counting of votes and the results will be announced on July 20.

The term of the President Pranab Mukherjee will end on July 25.

The NDA has fielded Ram Nath Kovind as its candidate for the election whereas, Opposition’s nominee is former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar. 

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method