As many as 103 candidates contesting the fourth phase of Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls have criminal cases pending against them, according to a monitoring group.

Out of the 297 candidates analysed by National Election Watch for the fourth phase of assembly elections, 103 candidates have declared criminal cases against them, former DGP M C Dwivedi of UP election watch told reporters here.

He said that the group has analysed 297 out of today 966 candidates belonging to main political parties.

Among these 103 candidates, with criminal background SP's Ravidas Mehrotra contesting from Lucknow west seat has maximum 17 cases against him.

He is followed by SP's Veer Singh, who is also son of slain dacoit Shiv Kumar alias Dadua from Chitrakoot with nine cases and independent candidate Raghuranj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya from Kunda (Pratapgarh) with eight criminal cases, he said.

In the fourth phase too, SP tops the chart with 29 such candidates, followed by Congress 25, BSP 18, BJP 11, Peace Party seven and Apna dal and JD(U) 5 each.

Out of these 103 candidates with declared criminal cases, 47 have declared serious criminal cases like murder, attempt to murder, kidnapping, robbery, extortion etc.

A total of 139 candidates out of 297 analysed are crorepatis. In 2007, there were 22 per cent crorepati candidates.

The candidates with maximum assets in this phase are SP's Shyama Charan Gupta from Manikpur with assets over 40.45 crore followed by BSP's Shiv Prakash Mishra Senani from Kunda with Rs 30.05 crore.

Similarly BSP's Sindhuja Mishra from Vishwanath Ganj constituency has assets worth Rs 30.05 crore.

Among major parties, the average asset per candidate for BJP is Rs 1 crore, BSP and SP Rs 3 crore, Congress Rs 2 crore and Peace Party Rs 1 crore, he said.

Out of 966 candidates contesting for fourth phase only 91 candidates are women. The number of women candidates for BSP is six, BJP five, Congress eight and SP seven.

According to report, 40 MLAs are re-contesting with an average asset Rs 2.59 crore as against Rs 1.08 crore declared by them in 2007.

Ajay Pal Singh of Congress contesting from Unchahar seat (Reaebareli) the highest increase in asset worth Rs 10.91 crores, followed by SP's Mayankeshwar Sharan Singh from Tiloi of Rs 5.38 crore and Vivek Kumar Singh of Congress from Banda Rs 5.20 crores

A total of 93 candidates out of the 927 candidates analysed for the fourth phase by the election watch have declared that they have never filed income tax returns.

Top three candidates with maximum assets but who have never filed IT returns are Surendra Bahadur Singh of Peace Party contesting from Sareni has the highest asset of Rs 11.82 crores followed by Atul of Bundelkhand Congres from Baberu with assets of Rs 7.09 crore and Pushpa Devi of Apna Dal from Salon with Rs 4.26 crores respectively.

There are 52 candidates, who have not declared their PAN. Top three candidates with maximum assets but have not declared their PAN card details are Atul of Bundelkhand Congress (Rs 7.09 crore) followed by Sayed Qasim Hasan of SP (Rs 2.28) crore and Shiv Shankar Singh Patel of Congress (Rs 1.29 crore).

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method