Governance now
New Delhi
36 of these ‘offending’ lawmakers are from Congress, 34 from BJP

While political parties get set to hit the campaign trail with all their might to woo the electorate in the run-up to the assembly elections in five states, they might do the polity a favour by looking at their own ranks. Several members of parliament and legislative assemblies, owing allegiance to political parties of all hues, have declared cases of electoral offences, says a report by electoral watchdogs.

The analysis of self-declared affidavits by Association for Democratic Research (ADR) and National Election Watch (NEW) shows that 30 MPs and 127 MLAs, who have contested in parliamentary and state assembly elections since 2008, have declared cases of electoral offences.

Of the 30 MPs, 28 are from Lok Sabha and two are Rajya Sabha members.

While a total 36 of these lawmakers are from the Congress (7 MPs and 29 MLAs), BJP representatives come a close second, with 34 (9 MPs and 25 MLAs have declared electoral offence cases). Among the rest, 16 lawmakers from JD-U (2 MPs and 14 MLAs), 13 from Samajwadi Party (3 MPs and 10 MLAs), seven from RJD (2 MP and 5 MLAs), five from AIADMK (1 MP and 4 MLAs), and five are from the Bahujan Samaj Party (all 5 MLAs).

Broken up state-wise, eight sitting MPs and 33 MLAs belong to Bihar, eight MPs and 21 MLAs are from Uttar Pradesh, three MPs and 17 MLAs from Karnataka, one MP and 11 MLAs from Jharkhand and two MPs and eight of these MLAs are from Andhra Pradesh, according to the ADR-NEW report.

Corrupt practices and electoral offence cases fall under the Representation of the People Act, 1951. These include offences related to corrupt practices during election period, threat and inducement of voter, tempering of electronic voting machine (EVM) or ballot papers, denying someone the right to vote, or illegal hiring of any vehicle.

Here are the MPs with poll-related offence cases registered:

Congress: Vinay Kumar, Guddu Premchand, N. Dharamsingh, B. Jhansi, Khatgaonk Patil Bhaskarrao Bapurao, Aawale Jaywant Gangaram, Ashok Tanwar

BJP: Feroze Varun Gandhi, Rajnath Singh, Angadi Suresh Channabasappa, Katti Ramesh Vishwanath, Kirti Azad, Rama Devi, Nikhil Kumar Choudhary, Uday Singh Alias Pappu Singh, Danve Raosaheb Dadarao, Anandi Prasad Yadav, Pramod Kumar, Sanjay Sarawgi, Veena Devi, Subas Singh

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD): Devendra Nagpal, Jayant K Singh, Jagda Nand Singh

Samajwadi Party (SP): RK Singh Patel, Ghansyam Anuragi, Ramkishun

Janata Dal-United (JD-U): Mahabali Singh, Baidyanath Prasad Mahto

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS): K Chandrasekhara Rao

AIADMK: Thiru T Rathinavel

Shiv Sena: Subhash Bapurao Wankhede

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD): Ram Kripal Yadav

Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM): Babu Lal Marandi

Independent: Omprakash Yadav

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method