Bangalore - After analyzing the affidavits and nomination papers of 179 MLAs, seeking re-election in the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2013, an election watchdog Tuesday stated that there has been an 88 pc growth in the average assets of these MLAs over a period of 5 years i.e., from 2008 to 2013.

“The average asset of the 179 re-contesting MLAs fielded by various parties in 2008 was Rs.10 crore while their average asset now in 2013 is Rs.19.87 crore,” Karnataka Election Watch (KEW) chapter of Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR) said in a statement.

The average assets growth of these MLAs, between the Karnataka Assembly Elections of 2008 and 2013, is Rs.9.27 crore.

Highest growth in assets

D. K. Shivkumar, of Indian National Congress (INC) from Kanakpura constituency, has declared a maximum increase in assets with an increase of Rs.175.91 crores i.e., from Rs.75.59 crores in 2008 to Rs.251.50 crores in 2013.

Assets of Priya Krishna, of INC from Govindraj nagar constituency, have increased by Rs.143.36 crores i.e., from Rs.767.61 crores in 2008 to Rs.910.98 crores in 2013.

Assets of Santhosh Lad, of INC from Kalaghatgi, have risen by Rs 124.85 crores, from Rs.61.54 crores in 2008 to Rs.186.40 crores in 2013.

Highest Percentage growth in assets

The highest percentage increase (21051%) in assets has been declared by Ramanatha Rai, of INC from Bantwal constituency. Ramanatha Rai’s assets increased from Rs.1.71 Lakhs in 2008 to Rs.3.62 crores in 2013.

8 MLAs report decrease in assets 

8 MLAs have reported decrease in assets in 2013 as compared to the value of their assets in 2008. Among them the highest decrease has been shown by Sangameshwara B K (72% decline in assets, Rs.5.83 crores in 2008 to Rs.1.66 crores in 2013) from Chickmagalur constituency.

40 MLAs given tickets for re-contestation despite criminal record

The statement also includes a list of 42 candidates who had declared criminal cases in their affidavits in 2008. Out of these 42 candidates, 40 have been given tickets by various political parties for the 2013 state elections.

© Association for Democratic Reforms
Privacy And Terms Of Use
Donation Payment Method